OKWU selects Colby Robinson to lead men’s wrestling

OKWU Sports
Nick Morris, Sports Information Director

BARTLESVILLE – The Oklahoma Wesleyan Athletic Department has announced the hiring of Colby Robinson as Head Men’s Wrestling Coach.

Colby Robinson comes to Oklahoma Wesleyan after serving as the Head Wrestling Coach at De Smet High School in St. Louis, Mo. for the past four years. His overall dual record at De Smet was 30-21.

“We are pleased to announce that we have hired Colby to start our wrestling program.  We feel his passion for the sport and his alignment with the mission of our university are perfect the direction we want to take our program.” said Director of Athletics Mark Molder.

“We look forward to watching Colby start the program.  We feel he will do any amazing job in growing our athletes spiritually, insuring academic success in the classroom, and at the same time producing a product that will compete at the highest level nationally.” Molder said.

Robinson graduated from University of Central Oklahoma, where he was on the 2007 National Championship team and was also a 2008 NCAA All-American at 149 pounds. After graduation with a degree in Interpersonal Communication, he moved to McAlester, OK where he served as a Youth Pastor at Frink Baptist Church. He served there for 11 months before pursuing his Master’s Degree at Missouri Baptist University.

At Missouri Baptist, Colby was the Assistant Wrestling Coach of the Men’s and Women’s programs under the direction of Brian Jackson. During his time at MBU, he recruited both men and women wrestlers from Texas, Oklahoma, California, Missouri, and Florida. He has coached more than 10 NAIA All-Americans, 15 WCWA All-Americans, a Pan-Am placer, and a WCWA National Champion. Robinson helped lead the Spartans to a second place finish in the Metro Catholic Conference before moving on to De Smet.

Colby and his wife Emily have two kids, Makaylee (6) and Caemdon (3).

Oklahoma Wesleyan will begin its first season of Wrestling in school history in the Fall of 2017.