RSU’s Harvey named Heartland Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Graphic courtesy RSU Sports Info.

RSU Athletics
Tim Hanson, Sports Information Director

WACO, Texas – Rogers State’s Baylor Harvey was named the 2017-18 Heartland Conference Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year on Monday (July 2) to go along with being named the 2017-18 Heartland Conference Male Athlete of the Year on June 20. He becomes the first student-athlete to sweep the two league awards. The winners for the Male and Female Heartland Scholar-Athlete of the Year were selected from a group of 18 men and women by the vote of the league’s athletic directors and faculty athletics representatives.

Harvey’s selection as the Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year marks the first time a Rogers State Hillcat has won the award since RSU joined the conference in 2013. The senior closed out one of the most impressive cross country careers in conference history both athletically and academically.

In the classroom, Harvey graduated with a 3.94 grade-point-average in sport management and looks to continue his academic pursuits at The University of Oklahoma in the doctor of physical therapy program. His academic and athletic accomplishments led to the fourth Academic All-District award and second Google Cloud Academic All-America honor of his career earlier this season.

During the 2017 season, Harvey led the Hillcats to its first conference championship in program history edging out two-time defending champion DBU by a single point. Harvey won his third individual title in four years and was named the Heartland Conference Runner of the Year for the third time. The Cleveland, Okla. native went on to finish 10th at the South Central Regional to lead RSU to its first NCAA Division II National Championship appearance where he finished 16th to capture his second consecutive All-American honor.

For his career, Harvey is a three-time All-American, two-time CoSIDA Academic All-American, one-time Heartland Conference Male Athlete of the Year (in the one year the award has existed), three-time Heartland Conference Runner of the Year, three-time Heartland Conference individual champion, one-time Heartland Conference team champion, four-time All-Heartland Conference First Team, four-time CoSIDA Academic All-District and two-time All-South Central Region in cross country.