UCO sweeps regular season and tournament titles in men’s golf

MIAA Communications

Spring Hill, Kan. – Central Oklahoma charged on the final three holes to claim the MIAA Tournament title as well as the regular season crown carding a final day 290 at the par 72, 7,081 yard Sycamore Ridge Golf Course.


Washburn had the low round of the day as the Ichabods shot a 289 to finish second at the tournament. Lindenwood, Central Missouri and Missouri Southern rounded out the top five on the leaderboard.

Individually Alexander Hughes of Central Oklahoma had two birdies and an eagle on the back nine to finish three under for the day and one under for the tournament. Carson Roberts of Washburn shot a final day 71 to finish alone in second place at one over.

Connor Neil of Missouri Southern, Alex Springer of Central Missouri, Yente Van Doren of Lindenwood, Tate Williamson of Northeastern State and Cody Troutman of Central Oklahoma finished in a five way tie for the third place spot.

The All-MIAA team was announced with the top 12 in the MIAA standings and three at-large selections earning the honors and is listed below.

UCO earns the MIAA’s automatic into the NCAA Tournament while all others teams will wait for the field to be announced on Friday, April 29 at 4 p.m.

Men’s Golf All-MIAA

Alex Springer, Central Missouri *Player of the Year
Carson Roberts, Washburn
Yente Van Doren, Lindenwood
Eli Armstrong, Central Oklahoma
Patrick McCarthy, Missouri Western *Freshman of the Year
Shayne Allan, Central Missouri
Tate Williamson, Northeastern State
Cody Troutman, Central Oklahoma
Alexander Hughes, Central Oklahoma
Taylor Lansford, Missouri Southern
Nick Pierce, Central Oklahoma
Kevin Kim, Missouri Western
Travis Simmons, Central Missouri
Cole Dillon, Central Missouri
Jay Cottam, Nebraska-Kearney

Coach of the Year: Josh Fosdick, Central Oklahoma

Team Standings (Final) 
1. Central Oklahoma (50.5)
2. Central Misosuri (46)
3. Lindenwood (41)
4. Washburn (38.5)
5. Missouri Southern (32)
6. Northeastern State (29)
7. Nebraska-Kearney (27)
8. Missouri Western (22.5)
9. Southwest Baptist (21.5)
10. Lincoln (15)
11. Fort Hays State (7)