NSU men’s golf earns President’s Special Recognition accolade

From NSU Sports
Cedrique Flemming, Assistant Athletic Director for Media Relations

NORMAN – The Northeastern State men’s golf team was honored as a GCAA All-Academic Team for 2015-16, the Golf Coaches Association of America announced Wednesday afternoon.

The RiverHawks were the only program from the MIAA and one of just eight teams in all of NCAA Division II to earn the President’s Special Recognition for maintaining a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher.

Valparaiso (Division I), USC Aiken (Division II), UT Dallas (Division III), Embry-Riddle Prescott (NAIA), Garden City (NJCAA DI) and Meridian (NJCAA DII) were named Academic National Champions for their respective divisions.

A total of 208 teams submitted GPA’s of 3.00 or higher to earn All-Academic Team recognition. A total of 41 teams received the President’s Special Recognition.

To be eligible for GCAA All-Academic Team honors a college or university must submit the GPA’s for each player on its official squad list for the academic year.

2016 GCAA Division II President’s Special Recognition Honorees
Colorado Mesa
Northeastern State
Ohio Dominican
UC San Diego
Upper Iowa
USC Aiken

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *