OCU captures sixth SAC men’s golf title in seven years

Oklahoma City University men's golf team. Photo courtesy OCU Sports Info.

From OCU Sports Info.
Rich Tortorelli, Assistant Athletic Director for Communications

FORT WORTH, Texas – Individual champion Rupert Kaminski paced Oklahoma City University to the team title in the Sooner Athletic Conference men’s golf championships Tuesday at Waterchase Golf Club.

Kaminski, a freshman from Johannesburg, South Africa, posted a 21-under-par 67-63-65–195 to take the individual league crown. The Stars, ranked sixth in the NAIA, secured its sixth SAC title in seven years by producing a 282-272-276–830 on the par-72, 7,085-yard course.

Oklahoma City notched its 21st SAC title by a 29-shot margin. OCU has won the SAC championship 18 of the past 20 years. Along with its two Midwestern City Conference titles, OCU owns 23 conference championships.

OCU’s Anthony Marchesani finished as runner-up in the SAC Championships for the second consecutive year. Marchesani, a senior from Rosebud, Victoria, Australia, turned in a 70-65-68–203 to become a three-time all-conference performer.

Kaminski reeled in SAC freshman of the year while setting the course tournament record with his second-round 63. Kaminski nailed 21 birdies over the 54 holes while knocking in an eagle on the par-5, 525-yard sixth hole Tuesday. Marchesani piled up 16 birdies.

Second-ranked Wayland Baptist (Texas) finished as team runner-up with a 286-290-283–859, while seventh-ranked Texas Wesleyan took third with a 290-283-288–861. OCU and Wayland Baptist earned the conference’s bids into the NAIA Championships on May 24-27 at TPC Deere Run in Silvis, Ill. National-tournament qualifiers will be announced May 12.

Also becoming all-conference were Andrew Williamson of Wayland Baptist, David Ravetto of Texas Wesleyan and Brett Kennedy of St. Gregory’s. Williamson, the SAC player of the year, shot a third-place 72-69-69–210. Ravetto picked up fourth at 73-67-72–212, and Kennedy finished fifth with a 72-69-73–214.

OCU’s Zac Oliver, the 2015 SAC individual champion, tied for eighth with a 70-73-75–218. Oliver, a senior from Checotah, Okla., made par 43 times. Matthew Cheung of the Stars carded 78-71-71–220 to tie for 14th. Cheung, a junior from Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, sank nine birdies.

Jett Johnson contributed a 75-78-72–225 for OCU. Johnson, a senior from Norman, Okla., had seven birdies.

The temperature started at 66 degrees and reached 77 degrees. The skies were cloudy with winds not more than 5 mph.


Rupert Kaminski, Oklahoma City

Anthony Marchesani, Oklahoma City
Andrew Williamson, Wayland Baptist
David Ravetto, Texas Wesleyan
Brett Kennedy, St. Gregory’s

Player of the year
Andrew Williamson, Wayland Baptist

Freshman of the year
Rupert Kaminski, Oklahoma City

Coach of the year
Tom Harp, Wayland Baptist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *