Oklahoma City University women's golf team. Photo courtesy OCU Sports Info.

From OCU Sports Info.
Rich Tortorelli, Assistant Athletic Director for Communications

FORT WORTH, Texas – Caroline Goodin’s individual crown pushed Oklahoma City University to the team championship in the Sooner Athletic Conference women’s golf championships Tuesday at Waterchase Golf Club.

Goodin, a junior from Oklahoma City, recorded a 74-76–150 to become SAC individual champ. OCU, ranked fifth in the NAIA, won its fifth conference title in a row with a 299-305–604 on the par-72, 5,930-yard course.

The Stars own 14 SAC championships, all in the past 16 years. OCU and conference runner-up Wayland Baptist (Texas) notched NAIA Championships berths May 17-20 at Savannah Quarters Country Club in Pooler, Ga.

Goodin knocked in four birdies. She earned her second career all-SAC nod.

“I could not be more proud of all seven of the girls,” OCU coach Marty McCauley said. “We have faced a lot of adversity all season long, playing a difficult schedule on great golf courses. They have improved all season long, and it is great to see them peaking at the right time of the year. I am very excited about our national championship in May.”

No. 12-ranked Wayland Baptist shot 314-316–630. Ninth-ranked Texas Wesleyan took third with a 312-324–936.

Four OCU golfers took all-conference honors. Anna Mikish became SAC individual runner-up with a 77-74–151. Mikish, a junior from Choctaw, Okla., made 25 pars and three birdies.

Kailey Campbell tied for third with a 75-77–152. Campbell, a junior from Oktaha, Okla., sank three birdies and 24 pars. First-round leader Abby Thompson finished tied for fifth with a 73-82–155.

Marina Gallegos from Wayland Baptist and Alex Schies of Texas Wesleyan reeled in all-SAC nods. Gallegos tied for third with a 75-77–152, and Schies knotted for fifth with a 74-81–155. Schies repeated as SAC player of the year.

Raegan Barnes of the Stars picked up a tie for seventh with a 78-78–156. OCU individuals were Katie-Lee Wilson (79-81–160) and Emma Allen (83-86–169).


Caroline Goodin, Oklahoma City

Anna Mikish, Oklahoma City
Kailey Campbell, Oklahoma City
Marina Gallegos, Wayland Baptist
Alex Schies, Texas Wesleyan
Abby Thompson, Oklahoma City

Player of the year
Alex Schies, Texas Wesleyan

Freshman of the year
Elena Sinde Romero, Texas Wesleyan

Coach of the year
Marty McCauley, Oklahoma City

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *