Oklahoma Officials Association to induct five into Hall of Fame

OSSAA Communications

OKLAHOMA CITY – The Oklahoma Officials Association (OOA) will induct five new members to the OOA Hall of Fame on July 20 at 10:45 am in conjunction with the OOA Summer Convention at Southmoore High School.

Hal Deitz of Owasso, Bill Harper of Claremore, Eddie Moore of Oklahoma City, Clyde Smith of Calera and Delmer Summers of Stroud, will bring the total of OOA Hall of Fame members to 134.

Deitz, a 50-year veteran, officiated football and basketball and was a Founding Father of the Greater Tulsa Officials Association (GTOA).

Harper officiated football, basketball and baseball for more than 37 years and has served many terms as the President of the Bartlesville Officials Association.

Moore, a 43-year official of football and 35-year-official of basketball, served as an assignor of varsity and sub-varsity games throughout the Oklahoma City area in addition to attending games to observe officials.

Smith was a football and basketball official for 27 years while also being an educator for more than 40 years serving in various capacities from teacher to coach to administrator.

Summers officiated high school sports in Oklahoma for 58 years which included umpiring baseball for 48 years, fast-pitch softball for 30 years and slow-pitch softball for 25 years.

Selection to the OOA Hall of Fame, which began in 1987, is made by the OOA Executive Board which meets each spring.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *