Oklahoma Officials Association to induct four into Hall of Fame

Van Shea Iven, Media Relations Director

OKLAHOMA CITY – The Oklahoma Officials Association (OOA) will induct four new members to the OOA Hall of Fame on July 23 at 9:30 am in conjunction with the OOA Summer Conference at Westmoore High School in Oklahoma City.

Phil Anderson of Lawton, Tom Clayton of Muskogee, Jerry Smith of Yuma, Arizona and Paul Wilson of Norman will bring the total of OOA Hall of Fame members to 119.

Anderson worked as a basketball official in 17 state championship finals including the last 6 on 6 state championship game in 1995.

Clayton has officiated football, basketball, baseball and fast-pitch over a 37 year career while starting and leading several local officials groups in Okmulgee and Tulsa.

Smith, a native of Red Oak, a 35 year veteran in football, basketball and baseball, has left his mark in Southeastern Oklahoma by training over 150 officials working today for the OSSAA member schools.

Wilson, already a member of Amateur Softball Association (ASA) Hall of Fame as an umpire, served on the National Association of Sports Officials Board as Chairman in 1989 also worked basketball and softball on the college level.

Selection to the OOA Hall of Fame, which began in 1987, is made by the OOA Executive Board which meets each spring.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.