Oklahoma’s sports landscape continues to change

If there is one constant in collegiate sports in Oklahoma in the 2010’s, it is that nothing is constant.

The Sooner Athletic Conference announced Monday that Oklahoma Panhandle State would be joining the league. OPSU is making the transition from NCAA Division II back to the NAIA following the 2016-2017 athletic season.

This is just one of many conference and national affiliation changes made throughout the state.

Five schools have made the move from NAIA to NCAA D-II membership (Northwestern, Oklahoma Baptist, Oklahoma Christian, Rogers State and Southern Nazarene), while OPSU is traveling the other direction.

Here’s a look at how things have changed for the four-year schools throughout the state in just six years:

2010 Natl. Affiliation2010 Conf. Affiliation2016 Natl. Affiliation2016 Conf. Affiliation
BaconeNAIARed River AthleticNAIASooner Athletic
CameronNCAA D-IILone StarNCAA D-IILone Star
East CentralNCAA D-IILone StarNCAA D-IIGreat American
LangstonNAIARed River AthleticNAIARed River Athletic
Mid-America ChristianNAIASooner AthleticNAIASooner Athletic
Northeastern StateNCAA D-IILone StarNCAA D-IIMIAA
NorthwesternNAIASooner AthleticNCAA D-IIGreat American
OklahomaNCAA D-IBig 12*NCAA D-IBig 12
Oklahoma BaptistNAIASooner AthleticNCAA D-II**Great American
Oklahoma ChristianNAIASooner AthleticNCAA D-IIHeartland
Oklahoma CityNAIASooner AthleticNAIASooner Athletic
Oklahoma PanhandleNCAA D-IIIndependentNAIA***Sooner Athletic***
Okla. Science and ArtsNAIASooner AthleticNAIASooner Athletic
Oklahoma StateNCAA D-IBig 12*NCAA D-IBig 12
Oral RobertsNCAA D-ISummit LeagueNCAA D-ISummit League****
Rogers StateNAIASooner AthleticNCAA D-IIHeartland
St. Gregory’sNAIASooner AthleticNAIASooner Athletic
SoutheasternNCAA D-IILone StarNCAA D-IIGreat American
Southern NazareneNAIASooner AthleticNCAA D-IIGreat American
SouthwesternNCAA D-IILone StarNCAA D-IIGreat American
Southwestern ChristianNCCAA/NAIA*****MCACNAIASooner Athletic
TulsaNCAA D-IConference USANCAA D-IThe American

*The Big 12 actually had 12 members in 2010.
**OBU is set to complete its three-year transition to full NCAA membership for the 2016-2017 season.
***OPSU is moving to the NAIA and the Sooner Athletic Conference beginning with the 2017-2018 season.
****ORU was in the Southland Conference from 2012-2014, but returned to the Summit League in the fall of 2014.
*****SCU began 2010 competing solely in the NCCAA, but became a full member of the NAIA in the fall.