ORU heads to Fayetteville for NCAA Regional

ORU Sports
Scott Slarks, Director of Media Relations

TULSA – The Oral Roberts baseball team learned it will travel to Fayetteville, Arkansas for the 2017 NCAA Regional June 2-5 as announced by the NCAA Division I Baseball Championship Selection Show on ESPN2 Monday.

The Summit League Champion Golden Eagles (42-14) enter the regional as the No. 4 seed and face the host and top seed Razorbacks of Arkansas in the opening game Friday night at 7 p.m. Missouri State earned the No. 2 seed, while Big 12 Tournament Champion, Oklahoma State, makes the trip to Baum Stadium in the No. 3 spot and will play the opening game Friday at 2 p.m.

ORU has faced two of the three opponents during the 2017 campaign splitting a home-and-home set against the Bears and won two meetings with the Cowboys after losing in extra innings on the road in Stillwater. The Golden Eagles have not met Arkansas since the opening game of the 2015 NCAA Stillwater Regional.

This marks the 27th appearance on the national stage for ORU after claiming its 18th Summit League Championship Saturday. Riding a season-long, nine-game win streak, the Golden Eagles boast one of the nation’s top pitching staffs with a team earned run average of 3.00 that ranks seventh in the country.

All-session reserved tickets are now on sale for the NCAA Regional at Baum Stadium for $75 and can be purchased online by clicking here for the Arkansas ticket office. If available, single-session tickets will be sold at Gate A beginning two hours prior to first pitch of each game. Single-session tickets are based on availability and are not guaranteed for each or any game.

The winner of the double-elimination bracket advances to the NCAA Super Regional June 9-12 in Fort Worth, Texas.

2017 NCAA Fayetteville Regional Schedule 

Friday, June 2
Game 1 – No. 3 Oklahoma State vs. No. 2 Missouri State, 2 p.m. CDT (ESPN3)
Game 2 – No. 1 Arkansas vs. No. 4 Oral Roberts, 7 p.m. CDT (ESPN3)  

Saturday, June 3
Game 3 – Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 2 p.m. (ESPN3)
Game 4 – Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 7 p.m. (ESPN3) 

Sunday, June 4
Game 5 – Winner Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4, 3 p.m. (ESPN3)
Game 6 – Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 4, 8 p.m. (ESPN3) 

Monday, June 5
Game 7 – Winner Game 6 vs. Loser Game 6 (if necessary), 6 p.m. (ESPN3)