Sooners’ Rattler takes Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week award

Davey O’Brien Foundation

FORT WORTH, Texas — Oklahoma freshman Spencer Rattler has been named the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week for his strong play against rival Oklahoma State in Week 12.
Rattler accounted for all five Sooner touchdowns in No. 18 Oklahoma’s 41-13 Bedlam series win over No. 14 Oklahoma State. Through the air, he passed for 301 yards and four touchdowns while completing 17 of 24 passes, good for a .708 completion percentage. He also rushed for 14 yards and a score.
Saturday’s effort marked Rattler’s fourth 300-yard passing game of the season. His five total touchdowns were a personal best, while his four passing touchdowns matched his career high.
The product of Phoenix, Ariz., also earned the Big 12 Conference Offensive Player of the Week and Newcomer of the Week accolades. He is the second freshman to be named Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week in 2020, joining Missouri’s Connor Bazelak.
The other quarterbacks on this week’s Great 8 list were Dustin Crum of Kent State, Georgia’s JT Daniels, Kaleb Eleby of Western Michigan, Texas State’s Brady McBride, Michael Penix Jr. of Indiana, Pittsburgh’s Kenny Pickett and Desmond Ridder of Cincinnati.
The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. Over its time, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.
In 1938, O’Brien, who was a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955. For more information, visit
2020 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week Honorees
Week 1: Brady White, Memphis
Week 2: Trevor Lawrence, Clemson
Week 3: Dillon Gabriel, UCF
Week 4: K.J. Costello, Mississippi State
Week 5: Shane Buechele, SMU
Week 6: Connor Bazelak, Missouri
Week 7: Mac Jones, Alabama
Week 8: Desmond Ridder, Cincinnati
Week 9: Matt Corral, Ole Miss
Week 10: Kyle Trask, Florida
Week 11: Sam Howell, North Carolina
Week 12: Spencer Rattler, Oklahoma

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *