White named Central Region Player of the Year

From NSU Sports Information

TAHLEQUAH, Okla. – Bo White was honored today as the 2012 Daktronics Central Region Player of the Year, the organization announced.

The senior midfielder earned his second POY accolade as he was also named the MIAA Player of the Year.

Joining him on the All-Central Region First Team was senior goalkeeper Jordan Ladbrooke, sophomore forward Juan Peralta, sophomore defender Eric Crawford and freshman forward Joel Mendoza.

Northeastern State led the Central Region with five first-team selections, and all five will now be placed on the Daktronics All-American ballot.

White helped lead the Northeastern State men’s soccer program to an appearance in the 2012 NCAA Quarterfinals, which included the first victory in the NCAA Championship in school history. NSU defeated Fort Hays State 6-3 in the NCAA Round of 16, and White scored the second goal of that match.

He led Northeastern State with 33 points this season (14g-5a=33p). He led the MIAA in both shots and points, was second in goals and game-winners, and was fifth in assists. He also ranked in the top 20 nationally in scoring.

Ladbrooke recorded a career-high six shutouts this season, ranking sixth in the conference in that category. He was also second in goals against average and fourth in saves percentage (9-4-2, 0.91 GAA, .759 S%).

Peralta led the MIAA in points and goals, was second in game-winners and third in shots (15g-3a=33p). He also ranked in the top 20 nationally in scoring.

Crawford was the catalyst of a backline that shattered the school record for goals allowed in a season at just 20. The team posted eight shutouts and gave up less than a goal per match. Northeastern State gave up more than one goal just three times this season and just once in the final 15 matches.

Mendoza was third on the team in scoring (7g-3a-17p), and he also recorded a hat trick against Harding. He was sixth in the MIAA in goals, seventh in shots and eighth in points.

The Daktronics Central Region teams are nominated and selected by a vote of sports information directors in the Central Region.

2012 Daktronics NCAA Division II All-Central Region Team
First Team
Pos      Name                                   School                              Yr                 Hometown
GK       Jordan Ladbrooke      Northeastern State  Sr.                Ellesmere Port, England
F           Andy Chapman                Truman                             Sr.                 St. Louis, Mo.
F           Juan Peralta                    Northeastern State  So.               Tulsa, Okla.
F           Daniel Peralta                   Fort Hays State              Jr.                 Tulsa, Okla.
F           Joel Mendoza                 Northeastern State  Fr.                Dallas, Texas
MF       Bo White                           Northeastern State  Sr.                Durant, Okla.
MF       Charlie Backus                 Truman                             Sr.                 St. Louis, Mo.
MF       Tanner Brock                   Fort Hays State              So.                Winfield, Kan.
MF       Diego Cabral                      Fort Hays State              So.                Asuncion, Paraguay
D          Eric Crawford                Northeastern State  So.               Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
D           Eric Hymer                        Fort Hays State              So.                Overland Park, Kan.
D           Rhon Royer                       Harding                             Sr.                 George Town, Cayman Islands
D           Matt Langley                     Truman                             Jr.                 Maryville, Ill.

Second Team
Pos      Name                                   School                              Yr                 Hometown
GK        Kent Freund                      Fort Hays State              So.                Garland, Texas
F           Tomas Mares                    Fort Hays State              Sr.                 Tulsa, Okla.
F           Tony Luedecke                Truman                             So.                O’Fallon, Mo.
F           Michael Cole                      Fort Hays State              Fr.                Round Rock, Texas
MF       Jackson Savage                Harding                             Sr.                 Coppell, Texas
MF       Nick Franta                        Truman                             So.                Ballwin, Mo.
D           Gehrig Haberstock         Harding                             So.                Waynesville, Mo. 

Central Region Player of the Year:  Northeastern State senior midfielder Bo White (Durant, Okla.)


Cedrique Flemming is the Assistant Athletic Director for Media Relations at Northeastern State University.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *