Wooten named Coach of the Year; five RiverHawks named All-MIAA

NSU Athletics
Don Vieth, Assistant Athletics Director for Strategic Communications

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Northeastern State’s Chase Wooten has been named MIAA Coach of the Year league officials announced on Thursday.

The ninth-year head coach earned the league’s high-honor for the second time after leading the RiverHawks to a runner-up spot in the MIAA standings after being picked to finish seventh in the preseason.

Five NSU student-athletes joined Wooten with MIAA honors on Thursday. Emily Seiler highlighted the group with a First Team selection after playing the NSU backline for 1538 minutes. This is the second consecutive season for Seiler to be named All-MIAA.  Nicolet finished thr regular season with a team-high 12 goals and was second in the MIAA with six game-winners.

The RiverHawks landed two on the second team list with Paulina Chavez, and Sarah Rector being named.  Chavez is a three-time All-MIAA selection and Rector earned her first postseason honor.

Leslie Munoz was placed on the league’s Honorable Mention list for the second straight year after leading NSU with minutes played.

Northeastern State returns to action on Friday, where they will host Newman at 6 p.m. in the opening round of the MIAA Tournament.

MIAA Postseason Awards
Offensive Player of the Year – Mackenzie Dimarco – Emporia State, Fr.
Defensive Player of the Year –  Allysa Gann – Central Missouri, Sr.
Goalkeeper of the Year – Lindsey Johnson – Central Missouri, Jr.
Freshman of the Year – Mackenzie Dimarco – Emporia State, Fr.
Coach of the Year – Chase Wooten – Northeastern State

All-MIAA First-Team 
Goalkeeper – Lindsey Johnson – Central Missouri, Jr.
Defender – Allysa Gann – Central Missouri, Sr.
Defender – Skylar Drum – Central Missouri, Jr.
Defender – Kelsey Gordon – Central Oklahoma, Sr.
Defender – Emily Seiler – Northeastern State, Sr.
Midfielder – Haley Freeman – Central Missouri, Jr.
Midfielder – Kelsie Eason – Central Oklahoma, Jr.
Midfielder – Tanna Benefiel – Emporia State, Sr.
Forward – Makayla Toth – Central Missouri, Jr.
Forward – Asha Haile – Central Oklahoma, Sr.
Forward – Mackenzie Dimarco – Emporia State, Fr.
Forward – Mariah Nicolet – Northeastern State, Sr.

All-MIAA Second-Team
Goalkeeper – Allie Prososki – Nebraska Kearney, Sr.
Goalkeeper – RaVella Fisher – Rogers State, Jr.
Defender – Taryn Schnell – Fort Hays State, Sr.
Defender – Molly Willis – Nebraska Kearney, Sr.
Defender – Alex Wynn – Rogers State, Jr.
Midfielder – Nayeli Gallo – Central Missouri, Fr.
Midfielder – Haley Post – Central Oklahoma, Sr.
Midfielder – Darby Hirsch – Fort Hays State, Sr.
Midfielder – Sarah Rector – Northeastern State, Sr.
Forward – Kassie Newsom – Central Missouri, So.
Forward – Paulina Chavez – Northeastern State, Jr.
Forward – Cailey Perkins – Fort Hays State, So.

All-MIAA Third-Team
Goalkeeper – Jackie Lari – Newman, So.
Defender – Taryn Kedzior – Central Oklahoma, So.
Defender – Sydney Martens – Emporia State, So.
Defender – Jordan Ashworth – Newman, So.
Defender – Maria Stephens – Newman, Fr.
Midfielder – Kelsey Mueller – Central Missouri, Sr.
Midfielder – Izzy Romano – Northwest Missouri, Sr.
Midfielder – Tera Lynch – Washburn, Jr.
Forward – Macy Ruffalo – Central Missouri, Fr.
Forward – Kennedy Weaver – Newman, Sr.
Forward – Laurelle Theodore – Rogers State, So.
Forward – Josie Rimmer – Washburn, So.

All-MIAA Honorable Mention
Central Missouri: Cassie Forcellini – Midfielder,
Central Oklahoma: Kaitlyn Asher – Goalkeeper, Meredith Wilson – Defender, Monika McGee – Midfielder
Emporia State: Kailey Corr – Defender, Aislinn Hughes – Midfielder, Hannah Woolery – Midfielder
Fort Hays State: Megan Kneefel – Goalkeeper, Maja Persa – Defender, Paige Utterback – Defender
Missouri Southern: Ashton Manwill – Defender, Brianna Smith – Defender, Bailey Belcher – Forward, Jessica Edwards – Forward
Missouri Western: Anna Mayer – Goalkeeper, Mackenzie O’Neill – Midfielder, Taylor Schwartzkopf – Forward
Nebraska Kearney: Megan Cook – Defender
Newman: Kyra Butler – Defender, Sarra Gutknecht – Defender, Katie Hartman – Midfielder, Vanessa Ortiz – Midfielder,
Northeastern State: Leslie Munoz – Defender
Northwest Missouri: Emily Madden – Defender, Manuela Gonzalez – Midfielder, Kaylie Rock – Midfielder
Rogers State: Janell Hernandez – Defender, Anita Gaspar – Midfielder, Bria Salazar – Midfielder,, Kori Watters – Forward
Washburn: Raegan Wells – Goalkeeper, Emily Michaelis – Defender, Olivia Grasso – Midfielder