CU’s Hrncair named LSC Coach of the Year; Nielsen tapped as Player and Newcomer of the Year

From CU Sports Info.
Don Vieth, Sports Information Director

AMARILLO, Texas – Jerry Hrnciar won his fourth Lone Star Conference Coach of the Year award in row and ninth overall with sophomore Daniel Nielsen being named as the league’s Newcomer of the Year and Player of the Year on Monday evening as the league’s annual postseason golf awards were announced at the championships.

Nielsen is the first Aggie golfer to be tapped as LSC Player of the Year or Newcomer of the Year after boasting a 72.55 scoring average with two runner-up finishes.   He was also named as All-LSC first team along with teammates Zander Winston and Cullen Stahl.OSB-LSC

Stahl is a three-time All-LSC first team selection for the Aggies and was named 2013 LSC Freshman of the Year; Winston was an All-LSC second team selection in 2015.  Both players had helped the Aggies win the last two LSC titles and qualify for the NCAA South Central/West Super Regional.

A total of 12 student-athletes were honored with the awards voted upon by the league coaches.

Player    Team     Year       Hometown
Daniel NielsenCameronSODenmark
Zander WinstonCameronSRDallas, Texas
Jared BakerMidwestern StateJRHolliday, Texas
Thomas SmithMidwestern StateJRStoke-on-Trent England
Cullen StahlCameronSRLawton, Okla.
Hagan WoodTexas A&M-CommerceJRLongview, Texas
Angel AguirreWest Texas A&MSOTorreon, Coahilla, Mexico
Garrett LandersTexas A&M-CommerceFRSulphur Springs, Texas
Colton DorionMidwestern StateJRSurrey, British Columbia
Brandel WoodmanWest Texas A&MJRDumas, Texas
Clayton MeyersMidwestern StateFRLlano, Texas
Chance CraigMidwestern StateFRLlano, Texas

Player of the Year: Daniel Nielsen, Cameron
Newcomer of the Year: Daniel Nielsen, Cameron
Freshman of the Year: Garrett Landers, Texas A&M-Commerce
Coach of the Year: Jerry Hrnciar, Cameron